The Philippine Popular Music Festival (also known as Philpop) is an annual songwriting competition organized by the Philpop MusicFest Foundation and was launched in 2012. The creation of the festival was inspired by the defunct Metro Manila Popular Music Festival. The foundation itself is headed by the chairman Manny V. Pangilinan and executive director Ryan Cayabyab. The competition is only open to original and previously unreleased songs in English, Filipino and other Philippine languages. Since its inception, it's been airing annually in TV5. There are three prizes given: Grand Prize (?1,000,000), 2nd Prize (?500,000) and 3rd Prize (?250,000). An additional award is given named Smart People's Choice Award (?200,000), which is the most popular song based on the text votes sent by the people. People who win these prizes also receive trophies while the defeated finalists each receive ?50,000 and a plaque. In its first year, the festival has received many controversies regarding to its finalists and its rules. On its second year, all the interpreters were able to film music videos for their respective song entries.